Tea Cake

The theme of the design competition at this year’s Glasgow School of Yarn was “Iconic Glasgow”, and the winning entry was a hat cunningly designed to look like the wrapper of a Tunnock’s Tea Cake, designed by my friend Lauren. I couldn’t resist volunteering to test knit the pattern, and now have my very own Tea Cake Tam!

DSCF6995

It’s knitting in Jamieson and Smith’s 2-ply jumper weight yarn, and the corrugated ribbing makes it lovely and cosy over my ears.

DSCF6999

It took me less than a week to knit and is such a fun hat I’m sure I’ll be wearing it lots.

DSCF6998

If you want to knit your own (and who could resist?) Lauren has now released the pattern, and it’s free on Ravelry until the end of the month: Tea Cake. I’m wondering about making another one in blue and yellow like the dark chocolate version. Though for now I think I might just settle for a cuppa and an actual tea cake.

DSCF6992

2 responses to “Tea Cake

  1. So cute! I would be tempted to use a sparkley yarn for the grey bits :)

  2. That’s a fun hat, and tea cakey without being obvious.

Leave a Reply

