Exotic marigold

Because we were going to see The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel this evening, today I wore my vaguely-exotic-looking necklace from Oxfam’s Fairtrade section (it has little charms hanging off it; a dagger, a heart, a dragonfly, a fish) and my orange shawl (as being the closest thing I have to the colour of marigolds).

290212

Shawl – Aurantium
Necklace – Oxfam fairtrade
Dress – M&S via eBay
Boots – Duo

It’s a lovely film; lots of sunlight and bright colours, which are just the ticket in the gloomy fag-end of an English winter, and a storyline which is very much in the English-people-abroad tradition of E.M. Forster and The Enchanted April, but at heart is basically just about people being fundamentally decent and nice and helping each other and finding happiness because of that. It’s very, very funny too, but also a lot less frothy than I thought it was going to be. Which isn’t a problem at all; I’ll take apple crumble over candyfloss any day, and this was definitely a gorgeous apple crumble of a film*.

*Um, yes, there would be a reason I’m not a film blogger…

5 responses to “Exotic marigold

  1. Hmm… warm, comforting, happy-making, reliably good for the soul – I like the sound of an apple crumble film!

    I like that shade of orange on you, too.

    • I think it’s probably my favourite kind of film – I definitely prefer happy films but tend to find the really fluffy ones annoying!

      I never thought I could wear orange until I knitted this shawl!

  2. That shawl is stunning, although it’s hard to see the necklace.

  3. I’m loving being reminded of all your lovely shawls :) I really must persevere with mine!

Leave a Reply

