Truly scrumptious

I was going to wear jeans today, but then I realised that it was actually quite warm and switched to linen trousers.

210511

Shawl – Travelling Woman
Top – Monsoon
Trousers – Fat Face
Sandals – GreenShoes

I’m not entirely sure I like how I look in these trousers (or, indeed, any trousers), but they’re cool and comfortable and work well as weekend wear.

I was up and about much earlier than I normally am on a Saturday, as I was meeting G and driving over to the Fyberspates open day. As well as the opportunity to buy copies of the new Scrumptious Collection pattern book and see the sample garments there was a lot of yarn on sale: Jeni is moving to new premises and was looking to clear some old stock out.

Fyberspates

Fyberspates

It’s fairly well documented, I think, that where yarn is concerned I tend to think that willpower is something that happens to other people, and I’m currently in love with laceweight and building up my stash of that in the same way I was building up my stash of sock yarn a year or so ago. (Almost everything I’ve bought lately has been laceweight, often paired skeins which can become cardigans; I’ve hardly bought any sock yarn.) Unfortunately for my bank balance, there was a lot of laceweight yarn on the sale tables today, and as well as a copy of the book I came away with this little lot:

Fyberspates loot!

From left to right: Nef Lace in green, Scrumptious Lace in blue, Elegance Lace in burgundy, two skeins of merino/silk lace in dark gold, and two skeins of merino/tencel sock in pink, blue and lilac.

Possibly a moratorium on yarn buying until Knit Nation in July might be a good plan.

11 responses to “Truly scrumptious

  1. Those yarns really are scrumptious colours, can’t wait to see what they become :) It’s cold and miserable up here, I’m wearing a long sleeved top and cardigan and thinking I might go back to wool tights tomorrow!

    • It’s quite warm here, and we still haven’t really had much rain to speak of in two months – makes me rather glad my garden is a mess and will shortly be being gravelled, I think it’s awful for people who are trying to grow things!

      • According to the farmer at the cattery, we had all the rain we should have had in April over the weekend at the beginning of May that I spent in York! It’s been pretty mixed since I got though, our backyard is like a jungle.

    • It is cold, but I’m not complaining! Last year it was 26 degrees for the marathon!

      Sadie – those yarns are gorgeous. I’m currently knitting my Featherweight in Scrumptious Lace. The yardage is amazing!

      • They do have very good yardage. The gold merino/silk lace is 150g skeins and I seem to have about 3,500m – I could probably get a cardi out of one skein let alone the two!

  2. I am *very* envious that you got Fyberspates yarn on sale. I love her yarns.

    • She does beautiful yarns, and although I really like the commercial Scrumptious range I think I prefer the hand-dyed ones – I love how subtle but still vibrant the ones I bought today are!

  3. Very envious of your trip, would love to go to Fyberspates – have only seen them at Knit Nation etc!

  4. Oh, I wish I’d realised that was today! I love Fyberspates stuff – last three FOs have been Scrumptious, and the WIP is Elegance laceweight.

    • Oh, sorry, I should have emailed to see if you fancied coming along :-( She’s doing another one on the Bank Holiday Monday next weekend, though, so you could go then!

Leave a Reply

