Crotchety

Having said I was going to relearn how to crochet this year an opportunity presented itself this week when I managed to poke a hole in the tip of my left index finger with my 2.25mm sock needle (this is a fairly common knitting-related injury in the winter months when the skin on my hands is dry and prone to cracking however much hand cream I use). I normally see this as a golden opportunity to practice my Continental knitting, but Natalie at The Yarn Yard has been posting about relearning to crochet and started a crochet-along on the Yarn Yard Ravelry group, and I was inspired to put my needles down and pick up a hook instead.

I started with the Attic 24 ripple tutorial. The first time I used some leftover sock yarn that was lying around; I ended up two stitches short at the end of the first row and then ran out of yarn. The second time I tried some Rowan Cotton Glace because I thought a smoother yarn might be easier. I still ended up two stitches short on the first row but carried on and did a second row anyway, and was pleased to find that crocheting into stitches is much easier than crocheting into a chain. I also worked out why I was short on stitches (an inability to count to four at the start of the row and not realising that the slip knot isn’t counted as the first loop in the chain), and the third time I managed to produce this:

I’m planning on making a ripple blanket sometime, possibly with my sock yarn leftovers, but I haven’t quite decided how big it should be or what colours to use, and I thought that it might be better to start with something smaller for my first crochet project anyway. I was slightly hampered by the fact that I only own two crochet hooks at the moment (I have ordered a set of KnitPro double-ended hooks but given the disruption to the post caused by the snow I have no idea when I’ll see them!), but I searched Ravelry for scarf patterns using the sizes I have and decided on Nancy’s Waves (pdf link) using some Kureyon Sock I had stashed. After looking up the instructions for all the stitches I cast on, and have managed three pattern repeats so far:

It feels quicker than knitting, I suppose because the stitches are taller, and I’m finding the pattern pretty easy to follow so far. And I’m sure there will be advantages to knowing how to crochet as well as knit.

6 responses to “Crotchety

  1. Your hands. I’ve had the same problem for years, sometimes unable to knit at all and with very, very painful splits in my fingers which never seemed to heal. I recently saw my doctor about something else and asked if he could help with my hands. He said the problem was eczema and instructed me to *wash my hands*, all the time, in aqueous cream. Also gave me some steroid-impregnated tape for the splits. The result is almost miraculous! And I put up with it for so long, thinking it was just one of those things. Doh!

    • Oh, how interesting. I do get eczema, but somehow I hadn’t associated the itchy blistering stuff I get on my elbows and feet and occasionally in other places with this dry cracked skin on my hands!

  2. I think crochet is generally quicker than knitting. It always feels that way to me. I was hit with a sudden urge to start crocheting again today – I think because I just discovered attic24 and realised that the Shed is wholly lacking in beautiful crocheted cushions and blankets! But there are lots of other things I need to do first. *cough*PhD*cough*

  3. Pingback: Year Ending « Knitting up the ravelled sleeve of care

Leave a Reply

