Bag lady

At this time of year it becomes very difficult to blog about knitting, because so much of what I’m making can’t be revealed until after Christmas. I did take a break from present-knitting to design a little bag to carry my phone and iPod in:

I carry a backpack to and from work; it’s hard to find shoulder bags big enough to fit all the things I carry around with me (books, knitting, lunch, spare shoes) and I find that large shoulder bags give me backache anyway. The downside is that it’s not very easy to get at things in a backpack, and I like to have both my phone and my iPod handy; I use my phone for taking pictures when I’m out and about, and if I’m listening to the iPod I want to be able to change tracks or just see what’s come on. Before I bought the iPod I just carried my phone in my coat or jacket pocket, but the two together are a bit bulky, so I thought I’d knit a little bag with a long strap I could wear across my body.

My first thought was to knit a rectangular bag in sock yarn, but that would have taken quite a long time and I coudn’t spare more than a night or two from the Christmas knitting, so instead I dug out half a ball of Rowan Colourscape Chunky from my stash and started making what could have been a toe-up sock for a giant, using Judy’s magic cast on and a star increase, and then instead of knitting evenly I started to decrease again four rows after finishing the increases to narrow the neck of the bag. I was planning on casting off half the stitches and carrying on decreasing on the other half so that the bag was a full circle, with the top folding over to make a curved flap, but after seeing how the shape was developing I decided to make eyelets and finish it with a drawstring instead. I still like the idea of a circular bag, so I may keep experimenting with that, but I’m happy enough with what I came up with; it’s just the right size, and the neck is narrow enough there’s no danger of anything falling out but wide enough that I can easily reach in for the phone or the iPod whenever I want them. And I really like the way the rustic look contrasts with the shiny technology inside!

Apart from that, I’m on to the second sleeve of Imogen, and have been knitting with Debbie Bliss Donegal Aran Tweed (never again! It’s been discontinued anyway, but even if it hadn’t been I wouldn’t go near it again – it feels quite soft knitted up but is incredibly harsh to knit with), Kureyon (also quite harsh, but not as bad) and have just started knitting a toy chicken for my nephew in Rowan Felted Tweed (which feels absolutely lovely; I would like to knit more things in this). And I continue to accumulate sock yarn; I was lucky enough to catch a Wollmeise shop update on Friday and am eagerly awaiting the arrival of my two-skein ‘grab bag’ to see what all the fuss is about…

One response to “Bag lady

  1. I have a jumper that I made in Felted Tweed several years ago and it is one of the things that really makes me look forward to winter, since it does need to be very cold for me to wear it.

Leave a Reply

